Art of Death

Art of Death

Author: Nigel Llewellyn

Publisher: Reaktion Books

ISBN: 9781780231518

Category: Art

Page: 160

View: 237

How did our ancestors die? Whereas in our own day the subject of death is usually avoided, in pre-Industrial England the rituals and processes of death were present and immediate. People not only surrounded themselves with memento mori, they also sought to keep alive memories of those who had gone before. This continual confrontation with death was enhanced by a rich culture of visual artifacts. In The Art of Death, Nigel Llewellyn explores the meanings behind an astonishing range of these artifacts, and describes the attitudes and practices which lay behind their production and use. Illustrated and explained in this book are an array of little-known objects and images such as death's head spoons, jewels and swords, mourning-rings and fans, wax effigies, church monuments, Dance of Death prints, funeral invitations and ephemera, as well as works by well-known artists, including Holbein, Hogarth and Blake.

Art of Death
Language: en
Pages: 160
Authors: Nigel Llewellyn
Categories: Art
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-06-01 - Publisher: Reaktion Books

How did our ancestors die? Whereas in our own day the subject of death is usually avoided, in pre-Industrial England the rituals and processes of death were present and immediate. People not only surrounded themselves with memento mori, they also sought to keep alive memories of those who had gone
Mistress of the Art of Death
Language: en
Pages: 432
Authors: Ariana Franklin
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-02-06 - Publisher: Penguin

The national bestselling hit hailed by the New York Times as a "vibrant medieval mystery...[it] outdoes the competition." In medieval Cambridge, England, Adelia, a female forensics expert, is summoned by King Henry II to investigate a series of gruesome murders that has wrongly implicated the Jewish population, yielding even more
The dark art of death
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: N. Mashiro
Categories: Self-defense
Type: BOOK - Published: 1981 - Publisher:

Books about The dark art of death
The Art of Death
Language: en
Pages: 400
Authors: David Fennell
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-02-04 - Publisher: Bonnier Zaffre Ltd.

AN INTENSELY CREEPY SERIAL KILLER THRILLER DEBUT, FOR FANS OF CHRIS CARTER, M. W. CRAVEN AND THE WHISPER MAN. London's latest art installation is a real killer . . . An underground artist leaves three glass cabinets in Trafalgar Square that contain a gruesome installation: the corpses of three homeless
Art of Death
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Laurence Anholt
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-07-18 - Publisher: Hachette UK

'Quirky, compelling and thoroughly enjoyable' Kate Ellis 'A super start to the series' Frances Brody 'An entertaining murder mystery . . . witty' L C Tyler Buddhism, love, art and murder - welcome to the world of the Mindful Detective When a famously narcissistic performance artist is found floating in