The One-Cent Magenta

The One-Cent Magenta

Author: James Barron

Publisher: Algonquin Books

ISBN: 9781616205188

Category: History

Page: 224

View: 170

An inside look at the obsessive, secretive, and often bizarre world of high-profile stamp collecting, told through the journey of the world’s most sought-after stamp. When it was issued in 1856, it cost a penny. In 2014, this tiny square of faded red paper sold at Sotheby’s for nearly $9.5 million, the largest amount ever paid for a postage stamp at auction. Through the stories of the eccentric characters who have bought, owned, and sold the one-cent magenta in the years in between, James Barron delivers a fascinating tale of global history and immense wealth, and of the human desire to collect. One-cent magentas were provisional stamps, printed quickly in what was then British Guiana when a shipment of official stamps from London did not arrive. They were intended for periodicals, and most were thrown out with the newspapers. But one stamp survived. The singular one-cent magenta has had only nine owners since a twelve-year-old boy discovered it in 1873 as he sorted through papers in his uncle’s house. He soon sold it for what would be $17 today. (That’s been called the worst stamp deal in history.) Among later owners was a fabulously wealthy Frenchman who hid the stamp from almost everyone (even King George V of England couldn’t get a peek); a businessman who traveled with the stamp in a briefcase he handcuffed to his wrist; and John E. du Pont, an heir to the chemical fortune, who died while serving a thirty-year sentence for the murder of Olympic wrestler Dave Schultz. Recommended for fans of Nicholas A. Basbanes, Susan Orlean, and Simon Winchester, The One-Cent Magenta explores the intersection of obsessive pursuits and great affluence and asks why we want most what is most rare.

The One-Cent Magenta
Language: en
Pages: 224
Authors: James Barron
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-03-07 - Publisher: Algonquin Books

An inside look at the obsessive, secretive, and often bizarre world of high-profile stamp collecting, told through the journey of the world’s most sought-after stamp. When it was issued in 1856, it cost a penny. In 2014, this tiny square of faded red paper sold at Sotheby’s for nearly $9.5
The One-Cent Magenta
Language: en
Pages: 292
Authors: James Barron
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-05 - Publisher:

When it was issued in 1856, it cost a penny. When it was sold at Sotheby's in 2014, the tiny square of faded red paper known as the one-cent magenta cost nearly $US9.5 million, making it the world's most valuable object by weight. Printed in what was then British Guiana,
The One-Cent Magenta
Language: en
Pages: 289
Authors: James Barron
Categories: Antiques & Collectibles
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-03-07 - Publisher: Algonquin Books

An inside look at the obsessive, secretive, and often bizarre world of high-profile stamp collecting, told through the journey of the world’s most sought-after stamp. When it was issued in 1856, it cost a penny. In 2014, the one-cent magenta sold at Sotheby’s for nearly $9.5 million, the most money
One-cent Magenta
Language: pt-BR
Pages: 46
Authors: Adeilson Nogueira
Categories: Antiques & Collectibles
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-06-26 - Publisher: Clube de Autores

Qual colecionador não sonhou em possuir o lendário One-Cent Magenta da Guiana Inglesa? Este foi um dos muitos selos de propriedade do conde Philippe de Ferrari. A história do One-Cent Magenta começou na Guiana britânica. A Guiana Inglesa (que se tornou o estado independente da Guiana em 1966), como o
Lucy's Bones, Sacred Stones, & Einstein's Brain
Language: en
Pages: 309
Authors: Harvey Rachlin
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-07-14 - Publisher: Garrett County Press

Leap across time with bestselling author Harvey Rachlin as he collects over 50 of the most fascinating objects in the world, under one book. The Mounted Hide of Stonewall Jackson's Battle Horse, The Black Obelisk, The Rosetta Stone, George Washington's False Teeth, Vice Admiral Lord Nelson's Uniform Coat, The Elephant